top of page
  • hellojessicamary

PRAWN FETTUCINE: ON REPEAT THIS SUMMER



If I can tell you one thing, since Covid hit back in 2020 (yes, it's 2022 now, we won't get into it), I have really found my love for cooking. I’ve been trying new recipes left, right and centre like I’m Nigella, and I have no qualms whatsoever. My newest fave is this Prawn Fettucine. You've probably heard me rave about my seafood obsession before, so if the shoe fits, right?

Serves 2-4 (2 if you’re hungry)


INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tablespoons of oil

  • 2 tablespoons salted butter (yes, salted)

  • 400g raw banana prawns, peeled, tail on

  • 1/2 medium onion, diced

  • 1 tablespoon of garlic paste (or fresh, but I’m lazy)

  • 1-2 punnets cherry tomatoes, chopped (I used mixed tomatoes for this one)

  • 150g baby spinach

  • 1/4 cup of white wine (plus, a glass for yourself)

  • 250g Fettuccine (or pasta of choice)

  • 1/2 cup thickened cream

  • Parmesan, to serve

  • Fresh parsley, to serve

  • Salt & pepper

  • Pinch of dry parsley

  • Chilli flakes (however much your heart, or tongue, desires)

  1. Peel/devein banana prawns.

  2. Bring to boil a large pot of water. Add pasta of your choice & cook per packet instructions, less 1 minute.

  3. Set aside 1/2 cup of boiling water from the pasta, then drain pasta.

  4. Mix 1/2 tablespoon of garlic paste, a pinch of salt & pepper in a small bowl. Stir in prawns.

  5. Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a non-stick frypan. Once heated, pop the prawns in & cook for approximately 3-4 minutes (they will start to go tough if cooked any longer). Set aside.

  6. In a shallow cast iron casserole, heat 1 tablespoon of oil. Add 1/2 tablespoon of garlic paste &cook until fragrant - around 30 seconds. Then, add onion and cook for around 3 minutes, until transparent.

  7. Add cherry tomatoes & cook for 1 minute. Then, add white wine and simmer for 2-3 minutes.

  8. Add thickened cream, then add spinach & stir in until wilted.

  9. Sprinkle in parsley & chilli flakes. Simmer for a further 2 minutes.

  10. Add prawns, stir. Then, slowly add pasta along with the reserved water. Stir/toss until the sauces reaches desired consistency.

  11. Garnish with fresh parsley (sadly, I didn't have any when I took the photo), sprinkle parmesan & serve immediately.


Bon appetit, honey's.


J,

x

Commentaires


bottom of page