top of page
  • hellojessicamary

OUR ENGAGEMENT LUNCH

Hey hey, happy Thursday!


Bit of a belated-engagement-post we have here. Turns out the end of 2022 which much busier than I anticipated (even though I definitely had my Google calendar open most days, who would've thought?) and I'm just getting around to properly going over what a fabulous day this was.


So yes, we're engaged. Fun! My partner (now fiancé, even though I don't think I've called him that once) proposed to me one random night in October. When I say random, I mean it. I was not expecting it whatsoever. Now, you're probably thinking 'well, why would you be expecting it?', 'it's meant to be a surprise'. Well, yes, you'd be right in thinking that. But being the utter Pisces that I am, any sort of inkling that he'd give me (ie. something as simple as planning to take me out to dinner) would probably put the 'omg tOdAY's the DaY xo' in my head a million times over. So, he didn't really have a choice but to do it when I least expected it.


I'm not going to get into the full story because this is supposed to be a post about our celebratory lunch (even though I have no pictures of the actual lunch) so we'll save that for another time.


Fast forward to December & we indulged in a super intimate lunch with our families at one of our now-favourite winery restaurants in the McLaren Vale; Vigna Bottin Cellar Door & Osteria. I cannot rave about this place ENOUGH. So much so, that it's been over a month and still can't get their pumpkin-filled ravioli out of my head. After our Aperol Spritz on arrival (a must-do), we enjoyed a set menu and everything was to-bloody-die-for. Just think, antipastos, meatballs, ravioli, orecchiette, salads. Not to mention, the surroundings at this cellar door honestly makes you feel like you've stepped into a Tuscan village.



Next up: the deets.


I had no idea what my vision was for this day. If you know me well, you'll know my style is usually quite neutral. So I took that idea, ignored it & went in a completely different direction. One of the first things I knew I wanted was a cake by my lovely friend, Rachel from August & Oak. I had saved a post of a cake that I'd seen previously on her Insta & we went with a similar design with a few extra bells & whistles. We went with sticky date flavour, along with a white chocolate buttercream. Rachel completely knocked it out of the park (like I knew she would) & everyone was raving about how flippin' good it was.


I ordered a couple of beautiful floral arrangements from The Grown Kind; a local florist in the McLaren region. I showed her a couple of pictures of the vibes I was going for & just trusted her to do her thing. The colours were stunning & she happily dropped them to the venue for me so they were ready for the morning-of. Absolutely gorgeous.


Other details linked:






Andddd finally, last but most certainly not least. The outfit & the makeup. One of my new favourite dresses of all-time: the Hamilton Printed Midi Dress by Acler. It speaks for itself!


I had my makeup done by another one of my faves, Frankie Makeup & Brows. I've had the pleasure of working with Frankie a fair few times in the wedding industry, so it was an absolute treat to be the one sitting in her chair this time round. Not to mention, I think its been a solid 5 or 6 years since I've had my makeup done professionally! Frankie is an absolute gem, and I could not have been happier.



One of my favourite days of 2022 by far. It all came together so well, and at the end of it all, I am now lucky enough to look forward to marrying my best friend in 2023.


Buckle up for the wedding planning, honey's.


x

Comments


bottom of page