top of page
  • hellojessicamary

FIVE HEALTHY HABITS FOR 2022.

Updated: Jan 3, 2022

I am the furthest example from epitome of health. I add cheese or salt to almost every dish, and I'd much rather swap out water for a piña colada.


That being said, I've decided that healthy habits will not go astray in 2022. Eating healthy & exercising is not only good for your physical health, but heck, it does a whole lot of good for you mentally. I started feeling much better mentally when I started going to the gym more often and implementing better foods into my diet.


1. DRINK MORE WATER


Well, well, well. That's just a given, right? I say this to myself every damn year, but I still find it to be one of the most difficult tasks. Is it just me, or does simply pouring a glass of water take more effort than whipping up an aperol spritz? Okay, maybe not. But there's definitely some chemical reaction occurring in my brain that makes it feel that way.


2022 goal: drink 2 litres of water per day. Take a cute drink bottle around with you (yes, even when you go shopping) to alleviate the stress of reusing plastic water bottles. Vom. I have a couple of Frank Green ceramic water bottles that I use, linked HERE & HERE


2. MAKE A FOOD SHOPPING LIST


Again, such a simple task but takes oh so much effort. Ever since I've been writing down a list for our weekly food shop, we've not only eaten healthier (AKA avoided 3 UberEats orders per week) but we've also saved money. Win win, right?


Our weekly food shop usually comes in at around $150 - $200 on average which includes meat, fruit, vegetables, snacks, drinks, household items, food for the dogs, etc.


2022 goal: Pick one day a week to go food shopping. I usually do mine on a Wednesday as this is when new catalogue's are released (sad #adultlife). The night before, write up an extensive list that covers all bases when you go shopping, so you won't need to go out again until the next week. Save yourself time & money, sis.


3. MOVE YOUR BODY


Chuck on a podcast & go for a run. Get the yoga mat out & do some Vinyasa in your living room (bonus points for doing yoga on the beach). Do squats. Take your poochies for a long walk. Trust me, getting out in the sun will work wonders for your mental health.


2022 goal: Move your body for 30 minutes per day.


4. READ MORE


Ah, reading is good for the soul. Not so much the eyes, if you struggle with vision like I do. That being said, I have a whole shelf of books that need reading & I'm making in my goal in 2022 to get through at least 12 of them. Set up a cosy spot in your house that you feel comfortable reading in, grab a cup of coffee & call it a day (or night).


2022 goal: Read a different book each month.


5. TRY SOMETHING NEW


I'm 100% serious when I say, 2022 is going to be the year of the new. And no, I did not mean for that to rhyme but thank you for playing along nonetheless. I kid you not, my Google history is probably full of 'new hobbies to take up' or 'things to do in Adelaide' the past few days. I've found some absolute pearlers, mind you. Here are some ideas:


- Attend a pilates class. If you're in Adelaide, Joes at Henley runs a 'Gin + Yoga' class every Thursday.

- Try a new restaurant by yourself

- Redecorate your space

- Go to a sip & paint class (I'm really not meaning for these to all be alcohol-involved, it just happens)

- Cook more!

Comments


bottom of page