top of page
  • hellojessicamary

EATS: OSTERIA OGGI



If there is one place that is on my bucket list of holiday spots, it's Italy. But since we're in Covid times and I can't drop everything to runaway to the Mediterranean, the next best thing is Osteria Oggi. And to be fair, I'm more than okay with that. With a few trips under my belt to this restaurant, it's slowly but surely made its way to the top of my 'Adelaide Eats' list. (I don't have a list, I literally just made that up).


Cooking food that they themselves love to eat, the chefs at Oggi use seasonal produce that is designed to share. When it comes to food, sharing is caring, right? And I can't think of anything better than trying a bit of everything on a menu. Their pasta is made fresh in-house daily, and they've even concocted a substantial wine list to match. With an intimate setting, cobbled flooring, arches, tan leather seats & aesthetic decor, Oggi will leave you drooling - and I haven't even mentioned the food yet (you had me at arches).



We ordered cocktails first, and the waiter brought out some delicious bread & butter (which I found out contributes as a donation, how lovely is that!).


Onto the cuisine. Oh, I might mention, we also ordered a bottle of wine around about now.


Now, let me get this straight. If you know me well, you'll know I adore seafood. I'd live off the stuff. So, whenever I go to a restaurant, I am hopeful that there is a selection of seafood on the menu (bonus points if there is raw fish). So you can only imagine what my first pick was.


ENTREE: KINGFISH CRUDO, GRAPEFRUIT & RADISH



MAIN COURSE #1: SPAGHETTI CARBONARA, WITH GUANCIALE, CURED EGG YOLK & PECORINO



MAIN COURSE #2: 250G SIRLOIN, WITH JERUSALEM ARTICHOKES



We also had a serve of the Crispy Potatoes as a side.


The was an ample amount of food for my partner & I, and as hesitant as he was on ordering the kingfish, I think he was glad we did because it went down an absolute treat (kudos to me). The Crudo was super refreshing, and the tang of the grapefruit left your mouth feeling full of pizzazz. I've feasted on their famous Carbonara in the past, and once again, it did not disappoint. My partners choice, the Sirloin, was cooked to perfection and deserved an accolade (or alliteration) of 'melt in the mouth' meat.


And as if our belly's weren't full enough, we topped it all off with the Tart of the Day and a delightful pannacotta situation (I can't remember the name, in case you were wondering).


An overall glorious experience. I would happily dine at Osteria Oggi again and again, if you haven't already gathered.


Next visit, the tasting menu.


J,

x

Kommentare


bottom of page